Webinar: Capsid titre quantification for AAV-based therapeutics

Last updated: 30th January, 2020

Cell and gene therapies require development of fit for purpose analytical tools to support bioprocess development, for biopharmaceutical characterization and lot release testing.

In AAV-based therapeutics content methods measure the number of viral genomes (genome titre) and the number of viral particles (capsid titre) per volume unit. While the former is easily quantified by PCR-based techniques, the latter poses some challenges.

Here, we present an immunoassay developed on the Gyrolab® platform with AAV serotype-specific antibodies that can reliably measure AAV capsid titre in purified and in process samples making it suitable for AAV process development. Versatility of this assay is based on using an antibody pair, where one antibody recognises a broad spectrum of AAV serotypes and the other is serotype specific.

This assay setup can be readily adapted to titre measurements of various AAV serotypes and has a greater quantification range compared to a commercially available capsid ELISA kit.

The audience will find out how:

  • Gyrolab technology can be used for AAV capsid titre quantification
  • The experimental setup can be modified for testing many different AAV serotypes
  • The developed immunoassay can be used for measuring purified AAV as well as in-process samples

 

Speakers:

Tomasz Witkos, PhD, Scientist, AstraZeneca

Tomasz Witkos completed BSc and MSc degrees in medical biotechnology at the University of Medical Sciences in Poznan, Poland. During his PhD and postdoctoral research at the University of Manchester he investigated pathology of rare genetic diseases. In 2018 he joined MedImmune (now AstraZeneca) to work on the bioassay development for in vivo expressed biologics, including AAV-based therapeutics.

 

 

Moderator: John Chappell, BSc CChem CSci FRSC, Application and Service Director, EMEA and Asia Pacific, Gyros Protein Technologies

Date: Friday, 31st January 2020
Time: 12:00am AWST, 2:00am AEST, 2.30am ACDT, 3:00am AEDT, 5:00am NZDT

Webinar Registration

Register Now>

Once registered a recording of the webinar will be available here.

Go BackGo Back
Top